What is the camera screen

Snapchat: delete chat - this is how it works

In the popular Snapchat app, you can send your friends messages, stickers, bitmojis, snaps and more. You can read here when your messages will be deleted and how you can delete a Snapchat chat yourself.

With Snapchat, chats between two people are deleted by default when both have opened the chat and left it again. Messages in group chats in which you can chat with up to 31 friends at the same time will be deleted after 24 hours, regardless of whether all group members have seen them. All unopened chats are automatically deleted on Snapchat after 30 days. If you accidentally sent a message or want to delete something else that you sent in the chat for certain reasons, this can be done in a few steps.

Delete Snapchat message

  1. Open the Snapchat app.
  2. Swipe right on the camera screen to go to the chat view or tap the chat icon at the bottom.
  3. Open a chat.
  4. Press and hold the message you want to delete.
  5. Choose Clear out.
  6. Confirm the deletion with OK.
  7. Tap Delete chat.

Your friend or group can see within the history that the message was deleted by you. You can only delete your own content at a time, not someone else's Snaps or messages. To delete a chat with a specific person from your chat overview, press and hold the friend's name, tap More and then choose Delete conversation out. Your chat is no longer displayed in the overview, but saved or sent messages are not automatically deleted.

Snapchat tries to remove deleted messages from its servers and your friends' devices as well. If the deleted chat can still be seen for a while, this may be due to a poor internet connection or an outdated app version.

Snapchat: delete chat - change settings

You can set in the app that individual chats are also only deleted after 24 hours and not immediately after they have been viewed.

  1. Open the Snapchat app.
  2. Swipe right on the camera screen to go to the chat view or tap the chat icon at the bottom.
  3. Press and hold a friend's name.
  4. Pick the point More and subsequently Delete chats ... out.
  5. A new window is opening up. Choose here Right after watching or 24 hours after watching it to make the appropriate setting.
  6. Tap Finished, to complete the process.

The new setting then applies to chats between you and your friend. You will both receive a message in the chat about the change in the settings. If the change is not possible, check that you and your friend are using the latest version of Snapchat.

You change the setting 24 hours after watching it back in Right after watching, chats that have already been viewed will also disappear.