Which octave is considered the middle octave

The pitches

There are only 7 different root names available for naming the notes. The eighth note of the scale again corresponds to the first in a higher register. We call this eighth tone "octave" (lat. Octavus = the eighth)

The sequence of the seven root tones is repeated in the different pitches. For example, on a piano we can find the note “C” in 7 or 8 different registers. (Depending on the range of the instrument.)

In order to distinguish between the different pitches and to clearly name the tones, the positions are divided into octave spaces. The type of designation takes some getting used to. Starting with the middle c, lowercase letters are denoted in more detail with dashes:

  • Immersed octave: c‘-h ‘
  • double-dashed octave: c "-h"
  • Three-stroke octave: c “‘ - h “‘ etc.

In the lower layers, upper and lower case letters are used that differ from this system:

  • Small octave: c-h
  • Major octave: C-H

Capital letters with a subscript are used below this.

  • Contra-octave: C.1-H1
  • Subcontra octave: C.2-H2

As can be clearly seen, the low range of the treble clef overlaps with the high range of the bass clef. Of course, you could also write lower notes in the treble clef. However, the many guide lines impair the legibility.

c´ is noted in the treble clef on the first auxiliary line below the staff. The same c´ (same key) is in the bass clef on the first auxiliary line above the system.

< Die NotenschlüsselNoten erkennen – Lernhilfen >

Categories learning grades